Click to Home

Go To Search

City Council
2013 City Council
L-R: Joe Pavelko, Jim Crowley, Tom O'Connor, Lani Basa, Tom Strigel


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Second and fourth Monday of each month
  • City Hall Council Chambers:  1670 Stieger Lake Lane, Victoria, MN  55386

City Council Vacancy 

Councilmember Joe Pavelko resigned on June 22, 2015, due to his pending relocation out of the City of Victoria.  

The City Council anticipates appointing someone to the seat at the July 27, 2015 City Council meeting.  

Because there are less than two years remaining in the term of the seat being vacated, there is no need to have a special election to fill the vacancy in this case.  The council must appoint a person to fill the vacancy.  The person appointed serves until the next regular election.

Mayor Tom O’Connor is nominating Tom Vogt to fill the vacant seat.  The Mayor submits the following for consideration: 

These are exciting times for the City of Victoria.  The City continues to grow and add amenities that build our reputation as a Destination city.  With less than 18 months remaining in the term, the challenge for an appointed candidate is to rapidly gain knowledge of the City’s history, policies, and goals in order to make informed decisions on behalf of the City of Victoria.  

The City will soon embark on the important task of adopting the 2016 Budget.  We are engaged in the implementation of a substantial Strategic Plan that includes a major downtown planning effort.  In 2016, we will begin updating the 2018 Comprehensive Plan and may begin an AUAR for our next phase of development.  With the gravity of these projects in mind, I assert that the experience and knowledge of the candidate to be appointed is of the utmost importance.  

Mr. Vogt has a long history of service to the City of Victoria, including his present service on the Finance Committee (2011- present) and past service on the Planning Commission (2003-2010).  Mr. Vogt also has experience as a City Council member, serving the City of Loretto, MN in that capacity.  Tom is a CPA and brings extensive knowledge of private sector business practices from his time as the Controller at Fingerhut.   

Persons interested in being nominated to the position should contact an individual City Council member or the Mayor directly, email the entire City Council at ia,, or contact the City Manager at or 952-443-4211.  

City Council Meeting Rules and Speaking at City Council Meetings

The City Council has Meeting Rules and Procedures to govern their meetings and allow for public participation.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

Catch up on past and present City Council meeting by watching our videos.

City Council
The City of Victoria's City Council is made up of four elected council members and an elected mayor. The Mayor and Council Members are all voted at-large.  All council members serve four-year terms, with the terms staggered so every two years two positions are up for election. The mayor is also elected to a four-year term.

The City Council are elected representatives of the City and have many statutory duties including, but not limited too:
  • Adopting ordinances, resolutions, policies, entering into contracts
  • Approving and adopting the City's financial operations with the advice of staff including:
    • Levying taxes
    • Adopting a budget
    • Borrowing money
    • Designating depositories
  • Appointing members to the Planning Commission, Park and Recreation Committee and Finance Committee
  • Plan for the future of the City through development and adopting a Comprehensive Plan for growth
  • Protect the welfare of the citizens through its ordinances, fire protection, police protection, roads, utilities, infrastructure
  • Provide community leadership
  • Acts as the Economic Development Authority and has specific powers and duties
  • The Council has many other responsibilities in the following areas:  buildings, actions at law, streets, parks, lakes, water, sewer

Tom O'Connor, Mayor

Lani Basa, Council Member

Jim Crowley, Council Member

Tom Strigel, Council Member
For your convenience, this email automatically emails all of us
Info Advanced